Journey to Heaven

This is an experience which happened 3 and a half years back. I was on a vacation with family to Kashmir, which is described by the Persian poet Amir Khusrau using these words : “If there is a paradise on earth, it is here, it is here, it is here”. I won’t talk about the whole journey here but just one day of the trip. The earth had taken 19 revolutions around the sun since I was born and I have been living in Delhi all this time which is not more than 150 miles from the mighty Himalayas, still, I had never seen snow in my life.

So after roaming around in the Srinagar city for 2 days, we started our journey to Gulmarg. And this was the first sight of snow and the first gush of chilly wind that caught us.

15122011599

A few minutes later, our cab was on a narrow road and I saw cotton-like snow lying around. I felt cheated at this sight because those of us living in northern plains crave for some of it and this can never be wasted like this 😀

15122011601

The wind grew cooler and blew faster. And all of us were already overwhelmed when the tallest Christmas trees waved at us from all sides.

15122011611

Finally we reached our destination and instantly realized that Amir Khusrau was a very reasonable man and didn’t just blabber anything 😀 I could not just get enough of what I saw and we spent the whole day there at -7 degree centigrade doing somethings which were not required, but created memories that were totally worth to cherish.

15122011632 15122011633 15122011636 15122011645 15122011673

The love with this place was so much that we all were back here just after 2 years during the coldest winters. Do share with me if you have had a similar relationship with a place. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Journey to Heaven

  1. iku2e April 1, 2015 / 12:07 pm

    Nice

    Like

  2. Hargun Wahi April 4, 2015 / 6:06 am

    J&k is a place to reckon with in terms of natural beauty
    You feel the clean and refreshing climate the moment you enter the terrain
    I have been there once and the stay in house boats was an absolute delight.
    Its really a heaven on earth 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli April 4, 2015 / 6:10 am

      Truly said ! I stayed in the house boat the second time I went and it was delightful indeed. But more than Srinagar and Gulmarg, I loved Pehelgam. It was so hard to believe that the scenic beauties there are real and not some distant paintings !

      Liked by 1 person

  3. scottishmomus April 6, 2015 / 1:20 pm

    I fell in love with my own country all over again when we toured the Scottish Highlands quite a number of years back and camped in the heart of Glencoe. We’ve returned several times since and it never fails to move me. Precious family memories, as yours here. They live forever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli April 6, 2015 / 1:32 pm

      Rightly said Anne-Marie. 🙂 A break from the fast paced city life in the mountains with loved ones is always welcome 🙂 Scotland is one of the dream destinations for me and have seen it so much in the movies here 😀 Would definitely visit there once I earn enough money 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • scottishmomus April 6, 2015 / 1:33 pm

        You won’t be disappointed. And you’ll get snow too at the right time of year. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. payalgajbhiye April 7, 2015 / 4:10 am

    This post takes me back to this heavenly place I visited 3 years back. Pehelgam , srinagar, gulmarg, sonemarg and so much more…best place to be ! Very well described…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli April 7, 2015 / 4:37 am

      Thank you so much for reading, Payal! It means a lot for a new-comer in the blogging world. I am glad it was able to bring back your happy memories. The serenity of these places, especially Pehelgam, is just too much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • payalgajbhiye April 7, 2015 / 4:58 am

        Encouragement of fellow bloggers really motivates us while writing…being only 2 posts old I understand ! I enjoyed reading all your posts….

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 7, 2015 / 5:03 am

        That is lovely to hear! I hope will be able to do in future too. And you are an incredible writer, I have seen it. It will be a pleasure to explore the thrill of writing with you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

