Liebster Award

Talk about being modest, ‘liebster’ in German means ‘dearest’. So I heartily thank two beautiful bloggers here – the multitalented Kritika (poet-painter-photographer) and the creative soul Shambhavi (sparkling-fashionista-blissful writer) for my dearest award. These are two of the few writers who make you addicted to their blogs and your day feels incomplete without admiring their amazing creativity. So do check out their blogs if you haven’t till now!

Also I owe special thanks to Drishti and Sophie for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award. Drishti, who has this ability to extract all the details from her powerful imagination and beautifully pen them down in the form of lovely poems,  and Sophie, whose cheerful posts always provide a fresh and positive perspective towards life. Do go through their blogs too.
(I have just recently told 7 facts about me here)

Going alphabetically, here are the answers to Kritika’s questions:

1. Why are you here on WordPress?
*Hands up* “I. . . I swear. . . I am not here to steal anything!” OK, leaving bad jokes aside, there was just too much piled up in my mind and heart which was dying to come out. I needed a place where my thoughts could be vented out and where answers to my questions could be found. That’s why I started blogging on Blogspot. But I soon realized that in addition to the above, I am a lazy person and needed easy to use interface to read fellow bloggers’ works. That’s how I came to know about WordPress from a friend Asid, and here I am.

2. Who is your favorite author/poet and why.
Jack London! His two novels ‘The call of the wild’ and ‘White Fang’ had a great impact on my life and I often find myself in situations where I act after thinking what Buck or White Fang would have done. (Not to mention I started wishing that I were a wolf after reading them)

3. What will you do if you wake up one day and find yourself in an unknown city?
At first, panic. After a few minutes, I’ll check if my phone is catching FM. If not, panic again. After a few minutes I’ll go and have some food.

4. Your thoughts on love.
It is like Rome. Beautiful, but not built in a day. It takes years of ordeal and the construction never stops.

5. Your favorite book and one book you would recommend to me
‘The curious case of the dog in the night-time’ by Mark Haddon. It is a unique masterpiece. The reader sees the world from the perspective of a 15 year old mathematician with some mental disorder. It might not be a classic, but it is definitely a great read.

6. One sober thing you did and one crazy thing you did.
Sober thing : I removed 7 layers of specially made clothes on a glacier at -7 degrees and posed topless.
Crazy thing : I started writing.

7. What is on your mind right now?
What’s the best way to answer this question 😛

8. What is that one thing that keeps you going?
The lust to learn new things. I am worried about the day when my learning curve stops.

9. Describe the version of you which you love the most.
The dedicated version. When I try for something with all that I have.

10. How many mosquitoes you have killed? Just kidding. When you look at your reflection in the mirror, what is the first question you ask to yourself?
Much less than the slaps I got from myself while doing that :/
Nowadays, the only question which I ask myself after looking in the mirror is : “How much more time will it take to have a beard like Albus Dumbledore?”

And now for the smiling doctor:

Q1. What is your motivating word?
‘New’. It sounds cliche, but that’s what motivates me – the fact that something I haven’t done before forces me to try it.

Q2. What is it, that you want to achieve at present or in near future?
I memorized this answer for my interviews, but will try to be more honest here 😀 At present I am thinking about money. In future I think my hobbies will sneak into my life and I would try to go towards social service and dramatics.

Q3. An animal you would love to share your life with?
A wolf! I can howl perfectly. We’ll have some very interesting conversations 😛

Q4. Your idea behind this blog?
The Uncertainty Principle given by Heisenberg states that we can never ascertain the position and velocity of an electron simultaneously. If we determine its position, we won’t be having any idea where is it headed and vice versa. I often think this principle is applicable to my life too. The idea behind this blog was to prove this principle wrong. To find myself.

Q5. Music genre of choice? Mention the artist/song close to your heart.
I am a fan of slow and sad music (I don’t know if this genre has a name. I find those names very confusing). ‘Jeena yahan marna yahan’ by Mukesh is an all-time favorite. If someone wants to try, listen to all songs sung by Mukesh and filmed on Raj Kapoor. This duo is beyond comparisons.

Q6. Your thoughts on love?
Refer to Answer no. 4 in Kritika’s question set 🙂

Q7. One colour that can change your mood?
Green. The leaves!

Q8. Favourite quote?
It is a quote by Ghalib : ” क्यों डरता है कि क्या होगा, कुछ ना हुआ तो तजुर्बा होगा ”
Translated to English : “Why do you fear of gains, if nothing, experience will be gained”

Q9. Hobbies other than blogging?
Acting. A quote from the movie ‘Birdman’ – Stage is the only place where I do not pretend 🙂

Q10. Recommend a dish I must try.
Considering that we are from the same part of the world, it would be difficult to tell something new, but still trying 😀 Its called ‘Uttapam Sandwich’.
Firstly, we make two rava uttapams following this : http://foodviva.com/breakfast-recipes/rava-uttapam/
Then we apply butter/cheese one of the uttapams, put some chips over it and cover it with the second.
Cut it like a cake and a filling meal is ready 😀

Once again, thank you so much Kritika and Shambhavi for nominating me and helping me to know myself. This is what brought me here 🙂

70 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. izza ifzaal April 21, 2015 / 8:32 am

    All the answers you gave were sensible and witty #humorous as well 😛
    It was great reading and Yeah Congrats on the “Dearest Award ” 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Prateek Kohli April 21, 2015 / 2:03 pm

      Hehe thank you so much Izza. I am thinking of experimenting with humor in future posts. So this encouragement was much needed. Your words always show the way ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • izza ifzaal April 21, 2015 / 3:24 pm

        Hahah good good then I ll be waiting 🙂

        Like

  2. Simpleheadgirl April 21, 2015 / 8:41 am

    Thankyou so much,for those wonderful words about me in your post. 🙂
    You have a special talent of making people happy. 🙂 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Prateek Kohli April 21, 2015 / 2:12 pm

      I am glad I was able to make such a wonderful writer and a simple yet amazing person happy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. shambhavi31 April 21, 2015 / 8:55 am

    Congratulation and celebration 😛
    Wow! I love your answers. They are incredibly awesome 🙂
    Wolves ah?! You must listen to Raised by wolves by U2. It’s not sad or slow, very energizing to be frank. I feel all ready to face the battle while listening to it.
    Your answer to Kritika’s 1st Q is hilarious, I could actually imagine it 😀
    And the Uncertainty principle doesn’t apply to us. Sometimes we do go through the phase of Uncertainty, only to realize that we have known the answer all along. On the contrary, the appearance of a helping soul in times of need can be uncertain.
    You have praised me a lot now Prateek. I feel awesome 😀 haha! At end of the day, I too try to remain cheerful, afterall I’m human. [not wolf:P]
    Yes I will definitely try Uttapam sandwhich, as I love Uttapam and sandwhich both. Will try it as a combo.
    Also, in this fast moving world, our hobbies will prove to be our savior in the end. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli April 21, 2015 / 2:25 pm

      I just listened to ‘raised by wolves’, and its on repeat now ! Its awesome! We were indeed raised by wolves 😛
      And after reading 1st question I really felt as if I am caught stealing money in a silly departmental store 😀
      After thinking for sometime and looking back, I really feel you are right about we knowing the answer. Let’s see how the future verifies what we think now 🙂
      And praising a creative soul happens naturally, so don’t worry about that. You are an amazing human! I may give humans a second chance now 😀
      Thank you for such a lovely comment Shambhavi. Really love it when someone reads and shares her thoughts so deeply 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • shambhavi31 April 21, 2015 / 3:01 pm

        Haha 😛 I knew it! That song is *special*.
        You ‘may'”give humans a second chance?! 😛 You still have doubts huh! Just kidding.
        I relate a lot to your posts and thoughts so thank you for making it awesome for me. I think you have a secret Happiness Project going on, I would like to join in. 😀 Make way for Me!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 21, 2015 / 3:26 pm

        Haha for humans I have doubts, but I heard that doctors are equal to God right? 😉
        And please join in ! Can any happiness project be complete without your words? In words of Mr. Mogambo, “Aa shambhavi aa, Jee le apni zindagi” *knowing smile*

        Liked by 1 person

      • shambhavi31 April 21, 2015 / 4:29 pm

        Lol 😀 Mogambo Khush hua! Hoping to be a great doc someday.
        Yes I’m joining the happiness project for sure. Make way for me! 😀 *Big Grin*

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 21, 2015 / 4:35 pm

        Ah I don’t hope for obvious things 😉 And I suppose we are already on board. Now you can stop reminding me of my weight. I have already made the way 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 21, 2015 / 5:23 pm

        Yes, the appearance of a helping can be uncertain, but I have good feelings in this case 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Kritika Vashist April 21, 2015 / 10:04 am

    Before I say anything, the 10th question was not answered.
    “How many mosquitoes you have killed? Just kidding.
    When you look at your reflection in the mirror, what is the first question you ask to yourself?”
    Well, this was the complete question, but thank you for making me laugh reading the answer 😀

    Thank you for being so kind and appreciating the blog. As Shambhavi said, you do make people smile. You are doing good to this world!

    You have answered all the questions amazingly. I didn’t ignore silly jokes, now you know that why I won’t 😀
    You know, I always wondered why the uncertainty principle is the name. I never asked, though. The reason you gave is incredible. I mean, how would someone link a principle with a blog where he pours out his thoughts. You acted like a typical engineer there 😛

    Favorite quote from Ghalib and the thought on love. They were the best answers among all. I admire his work a lot. I love to read his Urdu poems. I finally found someone who likes Ghalib, here! Yay!

    Thank you, again for all the appreciation and accepting the nomination and answering questions. Keep writing. Stay awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli April 21, 2015 / 2:38 pm

      Oh I really went into such deep thinking after reading the first part itself. The post is now updated with the complete answer 😀 And it is always a pleasure to make amazing people smile. It is like a fee given to them for all their amazing work 😉
      Hehe yes quantum physics is something I really like and Heisenberg was a childhood hero 😀
      And you like Ghalib too ! I am more glad than you to meet you ! Thank you for the nomination and the heartfelt appreciation. A beautiful day to you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kritika Vashist April 22, 2015 / 8:21 am

        Read your reply just now.
        How is it possible that an engineering student by now has not grown a Dumbledore beard. Haha. 😀 (Silly engineering jokes!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 22, 2015 / 9:43 am

        I am trying I am trying, had the summers be a little cooler, I would have succeeded for sure 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kritika Vashist April 22, 2015 / 12:24 pm

        Wikihow has ways to grow beard fast. Found the link on Facebook few days back. Might help you. Hahaha! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 22, 2015 / 12:53 pm

        Haha that was so nice of you! And I won’t judge you based on the links you see 😀

        Like

      • Kritika Vashist April 22, 2015 / 1:17 pm

        Ah! The link appeared on the newsfeed. I didn’t read it, but I remember what was it about. So yes, no point in judging B)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 22, 2015 / 1:26 pm

        Hehe was just kidding. I can’t even be a lawyer, let alone a judge.
        (Please don’t kill me after this)

        Liked by 1 person

  5. AdiC April 21, 2015 / 5:01 pm

    Oh and all your answers? Wit and hilarity ensues! Told ya, you’re awesome! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli April 21, 2015 / 5:20 pm

      Thank you miss amazing observer. What to say, I got into good company just after joining wordpress 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • AdiC April 21, 2015 / 5:26 pm

        Well, let’s say it’s a mutual benefit 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  6. barrira April 21, 2015 / 5:53 pm

    Interesting answers 🙂 that brings another lot of questions up in my head lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli April 21, 2015 / 6:00 pm

      Haha one should never keep anything this useless in the head. I am all ears, shoot them 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • barrira April 22, 2015 / 10:26 am

        oh no questions are never useless especially that give you a chance to see inside someone’s head ^_^

        These were the things that were going through my head after reading the qs/ans:

        1. I’d like to know more about your reading taste/ genres.

        2. why is writing a ‘crazy’ thing for you?

        3. I don’t understand what ‘Rava’ is :$ lol

        Best
        B

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 23, 2015 / 9:32 am

        I am sorry for the delayed reply, but I wanted to answer these questions by giving them ample time and not in a hurry 🙂
        So if one pushes aside all the junk inside my head, the answers to these questions are found as follows:
        1. I like to read anything which has a sense of unpredictability or surprise in it. Which mostly happens in adventures, mystery and humorous ones, but never happens in love stories. Also there is a special class of books that has no genre according to me. A few examples of this kind are ‘the curious case of the dog in night-time’, ‘the picture of dorian grey’ , ‘the reluctant fundamentalist’ and ‘the call of the wild’. These are very unique stories, or common stories told in a unique way. And these are the books that appeal to me most.

        2. I am a person who has always regarded writers as people who are very special and are born with a gift from God which allows them to express as beautifully as they do. I am also a person whose thoughts are seldom known by anyone. I crossed the heights of being introvert when I was on a bike with my dad and my foot got caught in the rear wheel of the moving bike. It was sliced into pieces by the spokes until I felt the need to finally express myself and ask my dad to stop the bike (This may sound psychotic, but I have always found it very difficult to put my thoughts into words – even if it is a cry of pain. I thought I’ll be able to pull my foot back without bothering my dad). So when I decided to write, I felt I am upto something really crazy 🙂

        3. I hope this link helps 🙂
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semolina

        I hope I was able to answer your questions satisfactorily 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • barrira April 23, 2015 / 6:12 pm

        Firstly, thank-you so much for taking time to answer the questions properly 🙂 Really, considering I’m always ‘curious’ so I understand if that can put off people lol

        Amazing answers and I understand what you mean by not being able to put some books into a certain category agreed 🙂 Also, I keep away from love stories in general xD

        On writings, While for some reason when writing comes easy to me, my vocal skills are terrible. Unfortunately I can’t walk around with a diary in my hand and pass notes to people so generally I get classified as socially awkward. Having said that having to choose between being a smooth talker or a broke writer, I will choose a broke writer lol and wow you must have some high level of tolerance for pain

        Thank-you for the link, now I must try that dish :$

        Best
        B

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 24, 2015 / 4:58 am

        Haha it was a pleasure answering your questions, Barrira. Finding someone who genuinely wants to know you is very pleasing 🙂
        And I like your choices. 😀 But also would love to know about your reading tastes 🙂
        And yes I completely relate to finding and sometimes creating awkward situations when in a not so familiar group 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • barrira April 25, 2015 / 10:02 am

        Well considering my favourite authors I can safely say my reading genre fall in to: fiction, confessional poetry, surrealist poetry and ONLY Pablo Neruda’s love poems (haha yes, I made this genre up xD) otherwise I’m pretty allergic to romance lol
        Best
        B

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 25, 2015 / 4:17 pm

        Oh and still you like Pablo Neruda’s work. I have to definitely check them out now. Thank you for sharing this. And don’t be so allergic to romance, you never know when your story becomes a masterpiece 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • barrira April 25, 2015 / 7:26 pm

        ..and to get you started, say Hello to my ever favourite poem xD

        http://hellopoetry.com/poem/9920/every-day-you-play/

        “I want to do with you what spring does with the cherry trees.”

        My favourite line from it as well xD

        My story? My story will be of this eccentric person who went mad trying to explain herself to brainwashed people lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 25, 2015 / 7:47 pm

        Hey this was brilliance !! Thank you thank you for sharing this. And you have a good choice 😉
        And you don’t know your story, yet 😛 Also, is there any scope left to be more mad? 😛
        (just kidding) 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • barrira April 25, 2015 / 9:00 pm

        Thank-you, you’re as always too generous with compliments xD
        haha actually I know quite a lot of people who will agree with your ‘madness’ statement 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli April 25, 2015 / 9:09 pm

        Well, then I would define madness as being different from the majority. And according to Aristotle, “majority is the rule of fools”. So we can safely assume the title of ‘wise people’ and thank Aristotle 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  7. floresypaz April 22, 2015 / 12:46 am

    I also really enjoyed the “The curious case of the dog in the night-time”–great choice! Also, you really deserve this award–congratulations!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Prateek Kohli April 22, 2015 / 6:50 am

      Thank you so much for thinking so ^_^
      And yes, I loved the idea of narrating a story in first person. You may also like The Reluctant Fundamentalist then. It is a 180 page monologue and its beautiful 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Camille Atienza April 25, 2015 / 6:05 am

    Congratulations on the award! You greatly deserved it. You have a very nice way of expressing yourself through words, a great writer indeed. You made a lot of people smile through your heartfelt words that’s why I’m very thankful also for finding me here. Continue to express and continue to encourage people! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Prateek Kohli April 25, 2015 / 3:21 pm

      Hehe Thank you Camille for all these appreciative words. Your pictures and quotes are something that I look up to for encouragement. Maybe that’s the glacier and I am just a river delivering your water 😉
      I am glad you are here, thank you ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • Camille Atienza April 26, 2015 / 2:35 am

        I’m happy that I’m one of those that encourage you. Hope we can continually help each other grow in harnessing our skills 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. secretivewriter May 1, 2015 / 12:03 pm

    Hi Prateek… This is really a nice once.. I mean your answers are all quirky and well-written.. Brings a smile on my face..God Bless !

    Liked by 2 people

    • Prateek Kohli May 1, 2015 / 1:37 pm

      I am honored to be a reason of your smile, my friend. Thank you so much for the appreciative words. Have a lovely weekend ahead. Blessings 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. maryam191 May 12, 2015 / 8:37 pm

    your answers. This combination of a person liking ghalib quotes , music by Mukesh and heading for a dumbledore beard is actually quite rare.

    by the way Congratulations 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 12, 2015 / 9:08 pm

      Hehe thank you so much my friend 😀
      But the quest for dumbledore beard has gone now. Its summers and its difficult with it in Delhi’s scorching heat 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • maryam191 May 13, 2015 / 10:23 am

        Oh yes!
        Well, we’ve got a few cooling showers here in central India. . So relieving!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 14, 2015 / 5:40 pm

        That’s great! I hope those clouds continue to travel north 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • maryam191 May 14, 2015 / 5:53 pm

        Another monster earthquake had hit Nepal again. How are things there in Delhi? I hope no after effects.
        *fingers crossed*

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 14, 2015 / 5:57 pm

        Yah Nepal is going through tough times 😦
        Delhi did experience shocks and we were scared to death when it happened but no loss of life has happened according to my knowledge 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • maryam191 May 14, 2015 / 6:19 pm

        It’s going fine. Sadly, I and many of my neighbours feet some vibrations off and on. Praying for all good !

        Liked by 1 person

      • maryam191 May 14, 2015 / 6:22 pm

        Prateek, I have a question. Are you in anyway related to Virat Kohli? 😛

        Liked by 2 people

      • Prateek Kohli May 14, 2015 / 8:23 pm

        Haha I have to ask now, was that your motivating factor to stop by here? 😛
        But no, I still don’t have much probability of meeting Anushka in near future 😀

        Liked by 2 people

      • maryam191 May 15, 2015 / 6:17 am

        Honestly, your name was the motivating factor! There are some names which arouse a literary based curiosity within you. Thereby, I clicked and explored your prodigious blog 🙂
        If there was some connection with Virat, it would have been like a cherry on the top 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

