I become the people I face

I woke up from sleep,
To a dream called life.
My ambitions now creep,
On the sharp edge of knife.

The knife of love and responsibility,
of the pressure and rat-race.
Burying all the creativity,
I become the people I face.

The people unknowingly shape,
And influence my thoughts.
Except those who provide the escape,
The dreamers… among the realistic lots.

Those who do and not just preach,
Where the opinion is presented, not the verdict.
Whose actions speak, not their speech,
Like the Secretive Writer who doesn’t worry about conflict.

They compel us to introspect,
And know the ugly truth.
They help us to find and inspect,
Ourselves and our wisdom tooth.

This is for the very talented Secretive Writer whose words play an instrumental role in re-discovering one’s lost self. The maturity of thoughts when mixed with a child’s energy, makes the recipe for the posts on this beautiful blog.

57 thoughts on “I become the people I face

  1. secretivewriter May 3, 2015 / 4:44 am

    OMG !!

    I am speechless…. really.. short of words.. This is so over-whelming.. I wish I could write a comment on my behalf.. only that could do justice to this blog..

    “The maturity of thoughts when mixed with a child’s energy, makes the recipe for the posts on this beautiful blog”

    It took my heart away..

    Urghh.. am still in the I-don’t-know-what-to-say mode..

    Thank you so very much.. you have no idea how much this means to me.. Thank you is all that I can say 🙂

    P.S : All the yesterday’s waiting is so worth it..

    God Bless You !!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 3, 2015 / 9:17 am

      Hehe I think you deserved at least this much for spreading smiles through your words. And I hope the heart comes back to you soon 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shreya Khandelwal May 3, 2015 / 6:45 am

    Lovely poem, Prateek! Especially loved the line “My ambitions now creep, on the sharp edge of knife”!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 3, 2015 / 6:47 am

      Thank you so much, Shreya for making my day with these words. I am glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

      • Shreya Khandelwal May 3, 2015 / 7:04 am

        The pleasure is all mine, Prateek. Actually, I have been wondering about the endeavors ahead, the rat race, the peer pressure etc since last few days, so your poem comes as a delightful refreshment!
        And to answer your latter question, my next post is coming in a few minutes as a matter of fact. Hope you like it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 3, 2015 / 7:47 am

        We all are caught in this web 😀 I wish you all the best for all your future endeavors. Though, I know you’ll do good 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. whydevyani May 3, 2015 / 10:31 am

    I know I’ll be repeating something that you’ve already heard before. This one is so simplistic and yet, so reaching. Also, the title of the poem is all kinds of awesome. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 3, 2015 / 11:38 am

      I am very happy to know that it reached you, Devyani 🙂
      Thank you so much for these lovely appreciative words. Your comments mean a lot. Keep them coming 🙂

      Like

  4. Kritika Vashist May 3, 2015 / 12:07 pm

    I become the people I face- Honestly, for me, this has spoken the reality really loud! A great one, Prateek. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Prateek Kohli May 4, 2015 / 6:36 am

      Thank you, Kritika. I am glad you could relate. We were born like an empty canvas. The smallest segment drawn here has to be the work of someone we met 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder May 3, 2015 / 5:11 pm

    Beautiful!

    I especially loved these lines:
    The knife of love and responsibility,
    of the pressure and rat-race.
    Burying all the creativity,
    I become the people I face.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shambhavi31 May 3, 2015 / 9:15 pm

    The line’ My ambitions now creep on the sharp edge of knife’ is well said. A very beautiful ode! 🙂 As usual your posts and thoughts continue to spread magic across wordpress. You may not realize, but your magic of evergreen happiness brightens up those grey days and adds charisma to the happy ones:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 3, 2015 / 9:20 pm

      I really have to save your words somewhere so that I could look at them at times of feeling low. Thanks a lot ! For the comment too, but much more for being around 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • shambhavi31 May 4, 2015 / 4:48 pm

        Hey thankyou so much! Likewise Prateek!
        I am glad that you found it inspiring:) Yay! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  7. izza ifzaal May 4, 2015 / 11:21 am

    God! The second stanza .uff amazing .Though It was like you penned down my thoughts.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 4, 2015 / 10:34 pm

      Thank you so much Izza ! And they being your thoughts, it had to be amazing 😉
      We tend to keep a part of everyone we meet and that defines us to a large extent. Only people who create can come closer to originality, attributing to their ability to think independently 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Sudakshi De Zoysa May 9, 2015 / 8:58 am

    whoa this is worded amazingly!
    In fact, when i was reading the second and third stanzas, I felt as if you are addressing these lines to me.
    I can very well relate to what you mean in those stanzas.
    Keep inspiring us! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 9, 2015 / 1:36 pm

      Wow! These were some amazingly kind words, Sudakshi 😉
      And I am honored to be able to write something that a brilliant writer, living thousands of miles away can relate to. Thank you much for appreciating it so genuinely. Will try my best to keep impressing you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sudakshi De Zoysa May 9, 2015 / 5:38 pm

        Not so far away as you think. I live in one of your neighbouring countries, that is Sri Lanka 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 9, 2015 / 5:47 pm

        Oh wow ! We are neighbours! But I am really scared of your Cricket team! 😀
        And at first there was Jacqueline and now its Sudakshi, Sri Lanka is a beautiful country for sure 😉
        Glad to meet you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sudakshi De Zoysa May 9, 2015 / 5:52 pm

        I did not understand the part where you mentioned Jacqueline o.O
        haha scared of our cricket team? that put a smile on my face, don’t take it the wrong way though 😀
        Sri Lanka is indeed beautiful, especially the hill country ^_^ you should visit her sometime 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 9, 2015 / 5:56 pm

        Haha I tried to compliment the two beautiful and talented women that I know from your country but as it seems, I failed miserably xD
        And I’ll definitely make a visit there once I earn enough money 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  9. sunainabhatia May 21, 2015 / 7:45 pm

    So aptly said….I become the people I face….How few there are who realize what they are doing and the reason behind it….we become puppets many times at the hands of the notions given to us by those around us….I do not know about the Secretive Writer you mention….but your words are poignant and thought-provoking…….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 21, 2015 / 7:54 pm

      I am glad that you understood what I intended to convey and could relate to it. Finding answers to the questions you talked about was the reason that I started blogging and its really amazing to have your insightful views on it 🙂
      Thank you so much for stopping by and the lovely comment. 🙂

      Like

  10. sheldonk2014 May 27, 2015 / 10:50 pm

    You really have a lot of good lines in here,I become the people I face
    Just great
    Thank you for your like
    See you soon Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 28, 2015 / 9:01 pm

      Thank you so much, Sheldon for stopping by and appreciating. It really means a lot to me 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

