Reflection – The Free Writing Challenge 2.0

Thank you Kritika for a significant fraction of my posts are now related to you. πŸ˜€ Whenever I feel I have nothing to write, I get an award or challenge from you which keeps the process going πŸ™‚
I have to admit that your posts are a perfect blend of humor, wisdom and romance. They are always a treat to read πŸ™‚

If anyone is unaware of the rules, please have a look at my previous post where all of them are listed.

The word given to me was – Reflection. Though it sounded easy, but I spent the first 90 seconds thinking how to start πŸ˜€

Here is my attempt to do justice to her hopes πŸ˜€

As soon as the eye contact was made, he asked me a very simple question. He wanted to know that what I did today and after knowing that, the follow up question was whether it was supposed to happen this way. None of us knew who was at fault but there was one thing we both were sure of. It was that for the world both of us were responsible for all of it, but in reality only one had to be kept accountable. We both looked with knowing eyes, still a doubt crawled along our nerves like a snake, tightening its grip, and crushing the vein in which conscience flowed from the heart.

My reflection and I, were engrossed deep in thought when a small deep water fish came to the surface to get some fresh air. And the reflection distorted. We became one again. No matter how easy it was to put the blame on him and come out clean. I just had to say, β€œI wasn’t being me”. But in reality, it is just too difficult to lie to yourself. The temporary scrape-goat gets destroyed by the tiniest of the emergence of truth from deep within and then, its only you, versus you.

Timer Set: 10 Minutes
Total Number of Words:Β 206 (I made an improvement of 3 words from the first attempt πŸ˜› )

And now my nominations are:
PrajaktaΒ – A brilliant writer of both prose and poems. Something I wish to achieve someday
Sudakshi – She writes for a reason and its really important that her pieces are read by the world
ShethΒ – A wonderfully organized poet
UrviΒ – A truly versatile and multi-talented blogger
Barrira – Her each post is thought provoking
Shambhavi – Our familiar creative soul

And your word is : Ink
Enjoy πŸ™‚

19 thoughts on “Reflection – The Free Writing Challenge 2.0

  1. Kritika Vashist May 9, 2015 / 7:44 pm

    You seriously wrote that in like 10 minutes?
    This is amazing. I could write plain!

    Yes, reflection was an easy, that’s why I chose it πŸ˜‰ I wanted to see how diverse thoughts and imagination can be. You did a great job.

    Congrats! πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. floresypaz May 10, 2015 / 2:02 am

    This is certainly impressive! “We both looked with knowing eyes, still a doubt crawled along our nerves like a snake, tightening its grip, and crushing the vein in which conscience flowed from the heart”–beautifully said.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 12, 2015 / 7:47 pm

      How I wish I keep impressing you with my posts and get these wonderful appreciative comments. Thank you so much, Julie ! Your appreciation really means a lot πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. AdiC May 10, 2015 / 2:13 am

    Well written! πŸ™‚ The night time gets your creative juices flowing I think πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 13, 2015 / 7:14 pm

      The darkness of the night has always been motivating me to try to do something productive πŸ˜€
      Bats and cats might feel their copyrights stolen πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

      • AdiC May 14, 2015 / 4:01 am

        If they read what you write, I think they’d happily allow copyright infringement πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 14, 2015 / 7:45 pm

        Haha I’ll really be glad. I can be attention hungry at times πŸ˜›

        Like

  4. petite poetries and more May 16, 2015 / 11:23 am

    Actually, this topic seemed to be easy but even I took slmost 2 to 3 minutes just to think what to write over it. And yours was a great attempt, full of mystery in the first para and all smiles and truth in the next one.!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Prajakta May 17, 2015 / 2:10 pm

    Thank you for nominating me and such wonderful words πŸ™‚ Now that I have written out the post, I can safely comment here without cheating!

    Like

    • Prateek Kohli May 21, 2015 / 8:54 pm

      Thank you so much, Neha for stopping by and the lovely response. Appreciation from an amazing poet always does wonders to the confidence of a beginner πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • forgottenmeadows May 21, 2015 / 8:56 pm

        haha aww you are too kind, I look forward to reading more of your works in the future πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Shreya Kedia March 7, 2016 / 12:10 pm

    A very innovative challenge, I must say. And and and, hats off to your writing. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

