A place to express joy and anger

The mighty gate stands tall, reaching the moon. Dazzling in the darkness of night, telling thousands of stories of bravery and sacrifice.

India Gate (May, 2015)
India Gate (May, 2015)

Sometimes though, the borrowed light goes out, and India seems to be in darkness

India Gate with full lights
India Gate with full lights

And the evil forces in the sky can be seen

India Gate when lights went off
India Gate when lights went off

It is then when the picnic spot changes to a revolutionary one

Road towards India Gate (December, 2012) Protesters jamming a 3km stretch
Road towards India Gate (December, 2012)
Protesters jamming a 3km stretch

The city of power demands it, powerfully

Photo0170

To break the chains to free the Might
SDC12418And it shines again
SDC12445

50 thoughts on “A place to express joy and anger

  1. preetixd May 26, 2015 / 7:41 pm

    Wow! (y) Beautiful portrayal of India gate and the pictures are amazing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 26, 2015 / 7:45 pm

      Thank you so much! I am not a photographer but the beauty of this place compels me to look like a wannabe 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 26, 2015 / 7:53 pm

        You made me feel relieved. Now I wait for another story that’ll shake me 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. preetixd May 26, 2015 / 7:59 pm

    Hahaha! :p Well, that’s my ultimate aim. I want to put Nepal earthquake to shame!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 26, 2015 / 8:03 pm

      Haha that was dark! I hope your words don’t trigger status updates like ‘slept through it’, ‘Failed to feel it’ etc. from our intelligent audience 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • preetixd May 26, 2015 / 8:08 pm

        I will work hard for my Intelligent audience ‘ :p I certainly don’t want them to sleep through it or fail to feel it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 26, 2015 / 8:11 pm

        Now I am sure the Nepal earthquake is finding a place to hide ^_^
        And I feel proud to be a reader of toodletales 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • preetixd May 26, 2015 / 8:18 pm

        Hehehe! You’ve feeded my ego enough for day. Thankyou so much! 😀 Readers like you actually provoke lazy writers like me to write. Thanks again!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 26, 2015 / 8:24 pm

        Haha! You must keep writing. Sharing the words of a senior which once moved me. ‘There is talent, and there is skill. Talent is what you possess by birth and can’t do anything about it. But skill is what you develop by years of working your ass off. In the end, skill always overcomes talent’
        Now you certainly have the talent. Do compliment it with the skill 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Kritika Vashist May 26, 2015 / 8:29 pm

    Oh, this is amazing. Words, photographs speaking of rage, rights, justice and hope. I loved that chained photo. You really put some efforts there.
    BTW, you would be surprise to know that today morning I was having a discussion on this subject and as the day ended I am seeing this post. This world is crazy! I hope she is in peace. Oh, I get furious remembering it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 26, 2015 / 8:48 pm

      Thanks, friend 🙂 And every time that topic comes up, a sense of hopelessness and anger surrounds me, failing to get to any solution.
      Probably discussion among the masses is the solution. Not to ignore the questions of young ones but to address them. Maybe.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 26, 2015 / 8:49 pm

      Thanks, William. I am glad you liked them, though the light and my ages old camera failed to catch what I saw 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. AdiC May 27, 2015 / 2:28 am

    The walk didn’t go waste! And these pictures are beautiful. I’m sure you’ve clicked more and they’ll someday see the light of the day with another story doing it justice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anu May 27, 2015 / 4:01 pm

    India of course is one of a kind. 😊 Amazingly written.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Anu May 28, 2015 / 9:28 am

        It was a great trip. But the heat in Delhi was too much to bear :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli May 28, 2015 / 9:15 pm

        Oh the heat ! I thought your trip just focused on the Himalayas. And Delhi is cursed for its weather during the whole year. While the summers experience 47 degrees, Zero degrees are attained in winters. I am sorry for the discomfort you faced, but really happy that the infamous ‘Loo’ spared you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anu May 29, 2015 / 5:48 pm

        We spent only a few hours there. Can’t imagin how you people bear it. :/ and my thoughts are with those who suffer from the heat and the families of the dead 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  6. petite poetries and more May 27, 2015 / 4:57 pm

    Amazing! How beautifully you’ve lined each and every photograph of yours. This gate has seen all the ups and downs of India and the latest being dec, 2012 but still stands tall with all its respect. *bow* to this poem and the India Gate.!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. izza ifzaal May 29, 2015 / 4:55 am

    Great clicks & But can I ask why are the protesters all over the place ?
    Kuch hua tha ?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 29, 2015 / 7:17 pm

      Thank you, Izza 🙂
      And that is a picture clicked during the protests against the infamous Delhi Gangrape. I am sure you too would have heard of it.

      Like

      • izza ifzaal May 29, 2015 / 7:20 pm

        I heard but I hardly watch news so no idea. .
        When did that happen? ??

        Like

      • Prateek Kohli May 29, 2015 / 7:23 pm

        December 16, 2012. Before you start reading about it, a warning – It is disturbing to say the least.

        Like

      • izza ifzaal May 29, 2015 / 7:25 pm

        Shoot then I don’t want to run. ,that’s why I never watch news chanel. .it’s all disturbing :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • izza ifzaal May 29, 2015 / 7:35 pm

        Hahaha shukria

        Like

      • izza ifzaal May 29, 2015 / 7:25 pm

        watch ***

        Like

  8. barrira May 29, 2015 / 7:51 am

    This is brilliant 🙂 and ok then you must share more click of yours ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli May 29, 2015 / 9:07 pm

      That’s great to hear, Ermy! Will look forward to your trip here 😀

      Like

  9. learningtocry June 3, 2015 / 4:15 am

    Hard to express the impression this leaves. Nice portrayal. Thank you for this post.
    And thank you for all the recent likes. Hope you are doing well.
    Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli June 3, 2015 / 6:36 pm

      Thank you so much ma’am. I am doing very well and I hope the same for you. Also, I think your frequent penning of thoughts could indeed be a good idea to compile your blog as a book as you mentioned earlier. I wish you all the best for that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. jpennerzook June 3, 2015 / 12:22 pm

    “…the borrowed light goes out, and India seems to be in darkness.” Chilling!
    Your photos and words tell such a powerful story. There is so much meaning in every phrase.
    It makes me want to visit India.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Prateek Kohli June 3, 2015 / 7:34 pm

      Thank you so much for the insightful comment, ma’am. 🙂
      India would be glad to have your presence. Who knows the fans of your upcoming book force you to arrive here and meet them 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • jpennerzook June 3, 2015 / 7:59 pm

        Well, if that were to be the case, I couldn’t think of anything better. I can hope!! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli June 3, 2015 / 8:01 pm

        As Andy from Shawshank rightly puts, “Hope is the best of things. And good things never die” 😉

        Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

