The King’s Gambit

SDC12355Sacrifice not always is selfless
A pawn suicide, few steps taken back
Destroyed an army of whites

Please bear with this post as this is my first attempt with Haiku (5-7-5). The idea came when today, my younger brother, who will be 13 this month, defeated me in chess. However, this is not something to be ashamed of as the computer too seldom wins against him. But the fact that he did thatΒ blindfolded left me dumbstruck and a little proud πŸ˜€

This was the Day 5 and the last day of the amazing Five Photos, Five stories challenge that I truly enjoyed. Once again, thank you PrajaktaΒ for nominating me!

My last nomination for this challenge would be AyushiΒ – who expresses with so much dexterity that you would be able to relate to her even if she’s talking about dinosaurs.

The challenge is – β€œPost a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for theΒ challenge”

20 thoughts on “The King’s Gambit

  1. Itsmine June 9, 2015 / 3:13 am

    If I hear the word chess,then I cant stop myself to play that..now I have to switch to chess site..!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Prajakta June 9, 2015 / 6:03 am

    You captured the essence wonderfully here Prateek πŸ™‚ You were fabulous throughout!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli June 10, 2015 / 7:53 pm

      Thank you so much for the appreciative words. Will hope to leave a similar effect in future too πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Kritika Vashist June 11, 2015 / 7:50 pm

    Blindfolded? :O What a genius!

    The haiku is perfectly worded. Wonderful post, yet again! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli June 11, 2015 / 8:10 pm

      Yes, he is! Only if he stops showing off someday πŸ˜€
      Thank you, for your appreciation that never fails to encourage! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. AdiC June 12, 2015 / 4:32 am

    Younger siblings showing off is a pain, no doubt, but it does make us puff out our chest with pride. They needn’t know that, of course! πŸ˜‰ As usual, amazing! I need to expand my vocabulary, I think. You’ll soon get bored of my praises, otherwise :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli June 12, 2015 / 9:13 pm

      I was recently called by a friend by the name of “self centered bitch”. I don’t get bored of praises πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • AdiC June 13, 2015 / 12:27 am

        Either your friend has gender confusion (like the people I stay here amidst… Hopefully my CM won’t get the pun!) or they took your role play very seriously πŸ˜‰ Rest assured, I’m going to continuing praising the “bitch” for a while πŸ˜‰ B-)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli June 13, 2015 / 8:44 pm

        Too much information in this comment !

        Like

      • AdiC June 14, 2015 / 12:06 am

        Too much information ‘coded’ in this comment! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  5. quirkyshine June 16, 2015 / 7:11 am

    Beautiful haiku here… I find it hard to write… but you did it flawless! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli June 16, 2015 / 4:36 pm

      *bows in courtesy and takes the imaginary hat off* I hope to leave a similar effect on you in future too πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

