Welcome to the Jungle : Bhuli Bhatiyari ka Mahal

Tired from the work, frustrated at the boss, sweaty by the heat. This was the state of mind when “places to go for photowalks in Delhi” was googled. I sincerely thank God that Google listens to our wishes quicker than God. Now, I just had to choose from the 87,200 results which were provided in 0.43 seconds.

Well,Β Bhuli Bhatiyari ka Mahal,Β which translates to “the palace of the lost” was chosen which is located near central Delhi, hardly 2 km from my home and surprisingly, I never knew it existed. I decided to take a walk as paying money for 2km when your belly starts becoming strikingly visible seems worthless.

Here is a view of the huge Hanuman Murti which you would have seen, if you have seen any movie shot in Delhi. It is a 108 foot long temple just 200 metres before the palace for the worship of monkey god, Hanuman. Hindus have 33 crore (330 million) Gods. So we could practically have a God for every species. Monkeys were at least our ancestors so it was expected to have a God for them πŸ˜‰

DSC_0803

Moving forward, let us enter the forest reserve in the middle of which we have our destination. Yes, Bhuli Bhatiyari is a forest that starts from the centre of Delhi and is spread across miles. But before entering the palace, the ferocious guard sitting on the tree asks for authentication of the visitor. The watchful eyes reminding me that I am just a visitor to a place I don’t belong to and I better behave.

The watching eyes
The watching eyes

The serene surroundings, filled with green trees and all types of chirping birds shields us from the cruel sunshine and worldly worries. Walking just a few steps more, we reach the beautiful, spooky and reportedly one of the most haunted places in northern India. I was glad the ghosts were not at home to welcome me.

DSC_0810

DSC_0811

DSC_0820-001

Built in 14th century by Firoz Shah Tughlaq, the son of Mohd. bin Tughlaq who is famous for his intelligent mistakes. I am not sure if Firoz Shah is counted among them. This was used as a resting palace for the nobles and other powerful men who got tired while doing the noble job of murdering animals. Jokes apart, although the place might look like a ruin at the first glance, but the deafening silence interrupted only by the voices of the jungle, and a peculiar peace of mind granted by the rebellious trees made the place exquisitely beautiful. Probably that is why I wasn’t able to click enough pictures of it as I got lost in the lap of nature in which the palace was built. It was not until something bit me when I noticed the presence of other creatures near my hand. I was actually disturbing someone at home, waiting for dinner to arrive πŸ˜€

DSC_0817

Coming back to the senses, I found a road and I started walking on it. You have to agree it was impossible to resist when you see this view on both your sides. The more I looked, the more enriching experience it became. The art of the trees forming so many shapes that the stars forming constellations could be put to shame. If you think the good things have been talked too much about, you must know that I was really feeling scared thinking what if the ghost stories about this place are actually true and the ghost of 7000 years old caretaker,Β Bu Ali BhattΒ is waiting for me behind one of those trees with an axe or something of the sort. I was also curious if he would pose for me before killing and if I would be able to tag him on Facebook or Instagram or probably Mr. Bhatt would be too old fashioned for social media. If that were the case, I imagined him saying : “If Facebook was there in my time, I would have been celebrating my 700th anniversary with Mrs Bhatt. Too bad that by the time I carved my emotions on a stone as my first love letter, the whole Tughlaq empire had fallen and Mughals were already here calling me a ghost. How I wish to break the nose of Mrs Bhatt now with that first love letter.”

DSC_0831

A few steps more, and I saw a small hole full of ants. I was about to click its pictures when a voice startled me, “Hey stop! What are you doing?” “Just clicking pictures of the anthole”, I replied politely. The man asked me to look closely and see if it is an anthole indeed. I did as instructed, and was surprised to see a rotten coconut buried in the ground with a red thread tied around it. Guessing from my confused look that I don’t know a single ritual of Hinduism, he told me that when a child dies before turning 5, he is buried and a coconut is marked at the site of burial because it is believed that he/she will re-born very soon. Also, the ants I see are not going home, they are actually eating the body by digging holes in that coconut. “Fuck”, I thought. I wanted to ask him, “WHAT ARE YOU SCARING ME FOR? ARE YOU MR. BHATT?” But I resisted opening my mouth (actually closing my wide open mouth), made a U-turn, and went back. Enough adventure for a day after the boring week πŸ˜€
So here I leave you again with the pleasantries which were clicked. Enjoy πŸ™‚

DSC_0824

DSC_0849-001

DSC_0852-001
I have no idea why am I shown the middle finger

DSC_0858DSC_0876DSC_0908-001

Before you leave, I am on Instagram now. I will feel as good as Mr. Bhatt to see you there if you are there too. pk9692 is the username πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Welcome to the Jungle : Bhuli Bhatiyari ka Mahal

  1. Udit. September 16, 2015 / 7:00 pm

    I see it everyday, the forest, the Hanuman Temple. πŸ™‚
    Anyway, loved the clicks and your narrative, I’ll probably make a trip there too, it’s nearby and seems to be worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. preetixd September 17, 2015 / 6:06 am

    Hahahaha! Mazza aagaya yaar πŸ˜›

    Its like visiting the place, knowing its history and laughing along with it.

    Thanks to you, I will now have to think of walking rather than spending money πŸ˜› and we hindu’s have so many godsπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Poor Bhatt, no facebook at that time. The lovestories during those times were cia eyes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli September 19, 2015 / 6:23 pm

      Hehe the post is here because you are there! Really relieved ki mazza aa gaya 😁
      And naina toh thagg lete hain na? Love stories would have been featured on crime patrol, probably?
      (My jokes are getting worse and worse)

      Liked by 1 person

      • preetixd September 19, 2015 / 7:22 pm

        Hahahaha πŸ˜› Muje 2 minute laga wo joke samajhne ke liye, tubelight me! *Hides face*
        and yeah, Crime patrol would have shows showing, “kaise naino ne dil thag lia aur society ne dil dene aur lene walo ka jeevan” πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sripurna September 17, 2015 / 12:01 pm

    Wow, the pictures are beautiful!! Any idea what that yellow flower is called?? I see it everywhere but I’ve always wondered wat its called…

    Like

  4. milliethom September 17, 2015 / 5:19 pm

    Prateek, your post had me enthralled… and in stitches at your humour. πŸ˜€ I had wondered whether you were a Hindu yourself, although I know that, just as in Britain, you have many religions in India. I’m sure I’ve seen that wonderful 14th century palace in a film – it could have been one about Mowgli or even Indiana Jones – I really can’t remember. But it’s an amazing place, and in such a fantastic setting in the jungle. Your photos are excellent and really present the ‘feel ‘of the palace and its beautiful surroundings. I’m so glad that Bu Ali Bhatt didn’t get you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli September 21, 2015 / 12:52 pm

      Haha thank you so much, Millie for taking the time out of your travel and as always, reading the post so deeply. And yes !!! This place was perfect for making Mowgli ! You have a keen observation πŸ˜‰
      And yes, I was born Hindu but have never been able to get the logic of almost funny and somewhat hypocritical beliefs of Hinduism πŸ˜€
      Thank you once again, Millie, and now I will get to write the speech for the twin awards ☺😁

      Liked by 1 person

      • milliethom September 21, 2015 / 3:07 pm

        All religions have some funny and hypocritical beliefs, Prateek, so I wouldn’t worry about them. I loved teaching about Hinduism. It fascinated me. It’s all so very colourful, too – but then, India is an incredibly vibrant and colourful country. So they go together. I’ll read youw awards post once you’ve done it, too. πŸ™‚
        I mentioned you in a recent post about Malta, but forgot to do it as a pingback to you. I changed that earlier, so you may find it in the comments on your About page. πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. shefalijha September 18, 2015 / 8:02 pm

    And visited again one of the lesser known places of delhi… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Its like I have visited all the parts through your blogs and seen them through your thoughts. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    And poor Mr Bhatt πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. faburlifekhloe September 19, 2015 / 3:22 pm

    I’m glad you decided to go there after Google search. It is a peaceful place for a walk and pictures. I’m sure the serenity it has gave you positive and relaxing vibes. Your beautiful description of the place made me wanna go there right away. Good job Prateek! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Prateek Kohli September 19, 2015 / 3:27 pm

      Hehe it is a delight to see that it had such an effect on you, Khloe! And the place would be as happy to welcome you as you would be. Thank you ☺☺

      Liked by 1 person

      • faburlifekhloe September 20, 2015 / 1:59 pm

        Aww it’s so sweet of you to say that πŸ˜‰ I would love to visit that place in the future. You’re welcome my friend πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  7. AdiC September 20, 2015 / 7:18 am

    Photo walks are the best way to unwind, for those who love walking and photography, of course.
    You had an interesting experience, though I never knew our religion had such scary (or is the word creepy?) rituals too. Obviously, no offence to those who believe in it. Who knows maybe it does work. After all, science has it’s fair share of mysteries to resolve yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

